Speed Demos Archive
Archived Quake Message board
In use until September 2003
Author Topic
-SCUT-OpenGLPosted - 30 September 2001 1:06 PST
hello guyz at SDA and QDQ, this is a quaker from China, and it is me the lamer that took the 7th place in the 100m run contest at SDA months before. my major is quake2 trickjumping and my skill of quake speedrunning sucks, however i like watching the speedrunning demos very much, and i have watched almost all speedrunning movies(qdq, qdqr, qrdq, qdqwav, qrdqII, qd100q, qd100qr, qdql, trr, q2dq2, ddq, ddqr, d2dq...) and the SDA records for many times. i hope to see something that can be called "quake done quickest", so i can't help airing my opinions on what shall be improved, although i think i would never be able to realize them or beat any record at SDA or QDQ with my sucking skills.

e2m2: quite a long run, and the bunnies don't look fast enough, so maybe a second or two can be squeezed.

e2m4: although ingmar's new route rulez, there are still some rooms for improvement(and he said he was just too lazy to improve it further), espcially a loss at the end, so i think 0:46 should be possible. another reason that e2m4 shall be rerun is: if you simply connect ingmar's e2m4_048 and e2m5_037 to qdqwav, you will eventually be killed in e2m5(right after the cage blocking)! and i know e2m5_037 is much harder to make, so e2m4 has to be remade ending with more health and armor(5 more, i think).

e3m2: why not grenade jump out of the pit at the end? health should not be a problem because atilla had more than 90 health in the pit in qdqwav.

e3m5: another level with a lot of bunnies, maybe one can bunny from a grenade jump to save some time but it is a problem how to have enough health to do that.

e4m3: why martin's 0:39 is not mentioned on the QDQ site? and i think 0:38 may be possible because martin's time is 39.4.